Freezing A Moment in Time

“Time will never stand still and those moments that bring us such joy become memories in an instant. To capture such a moment and record it forever is truly monumental.”

Yesterday, while spending some time at my mom’s house, I peeked into the rooms of my little brother and sister. Each has a wall full of pictures that brought back a barrage of memories. In my family, pictures are a big deal. At any given holiday meal, with my 16 aunts and uncles and over 50 cousins, someone will inevitably mention a picture they had and who they think may have removed it from their collection. So, looking at these pictures in my mom’s house, I had to fight back the urge to take a few off the wall.

Why are pictures such a big deal to us? Because that little slip of paper holds the memories of days gone by, of love ones lost and good times we’ve had. And with a family this large, we’ve had plenty. So I’d have to say by far that pictures, are my very favorite things.

I couldn’t possible determine my favorites, but here are a few good times that I could get my hands on right away in no particular order:

The time I nearly sliced my foot in half on my 30th birthday…

And 5 months later had surgery on my wrist. (The little hand is my niece’s…was she having sympathy pains???)

That time my niece reallllly wanted a hamburger…

The time I met John Oliver at a political rally (Judging by my hair, this was circa 2008)

The time my best friend got married (and hired an AMAZING photographer)

These are just a few of the fleeting moments in my life, that have been magically captured in pictures.  If you’d asked me 5 years ago, what one item would I grab if my house were on fire, I’d have said my photo album. But now…all my precious memories are safe and sound in the digital cloud.

This post is number three in a series of five that I’m writing as a part of Young Female Entrepreneurs Blog IT Week, you can view the other posts here: 

Leave a comment

Your thoughts?

