Who would I be if I let go of the past?

I began pondering this question several Sundays ago after watching Oprah interview with Dr Jill Bolte Taylor on Super Soul Sunday.  Dr. Taylor is a neuroanatomist who suffered a life altering stroke. Faced with rebuilding her life with little memory of who she’d been and what she’d learned in her many years, she was able to start fresh. Yesterday, this same question was posed by Danielle LaPorte, one of my favorite authors and out of the box-ers. This was her challenge:

Let’s say that a really cool Fairy Godmother appeared by your side right this second and said, “You are whatever you want to be from this day forward! We’ll just forget about all the times you were less than your best, and all the dark and brilliant ways that you’ve tried to love and be loved. And that one time you were a little bit nasty, let’s erase that from the record. And while we’re at it, we’ll forget about all the times you got bumped and bruised and neglected along the way.” It’s over. Free. Nothing to resent, nothing to be bitter about. Clean slate. Go. 

Honestly, I would be more of who am I right this very second. Several months ago, I decided to forgive everyone who had every “done me wrong”.  As I dropped all the grudges and ill will, I began to feel lighter. Physically and Emotionally.  As this weight was lifted, I realized there was one person that I still hadn’t forgiven for all her painful mistakes, bad decisions and wrong turns. That’s when I decided once and for all to forgive MYSELF.  For every bad thing I’d ever done, for every opportunity that I’ve ever missed, for the road less traveled that probably would’ve led to success. All of it. I am forgiven.

Once I forgave myself, it was as if that cool fairy godmother swooped down and said “Be what you wanna be, NOW. Zing!”  My confidence shot through the roof. I began to realize the greatness that I’m truly capable of. I felt like I could conquer the world. No. Better than that, I actually put together a business plan for conquering the world with the full expectation that it WILL come to life.

Part of my new goal in life is to get others to call on their Fairy Godmother. Shoot, I’ll be your fairygodmother, whatever it takes! You need to RELEASE it all. Dump the garbage. Quit telling yourself the same old story you’ve played out for years. Quit letting your friends and family sing that same old song they’ve known about you all your life. It doesn’t have to take a stroke to wipe the slate clean. Just decide. Wake up one morning and decide that you won’t be a victim, a martyr, a loser. Try new things like you’ve never been hurt before. Take your dreams and goals and multiply them by 10. Challenge yourself to BE something great, or to just BE.

Try it out, then tell me about it. Like the song says, “Ain’t no stopping us now! We’ve got the groove.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and liking my post! I really appreciated that, and also getting the chance to read your post in response to Danielle LaPorte’s thought-provoking question. LaPorte is one of my favorite authors and ‘out of the box-ers’, too. I loved reading your blog, and I’ll have to check out the Oprah interview with Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor as well. In any event, happy blogging, and thanks again!

    Reply
  2. Thank you for this inspiring post. I needed this today. :)

    Reply

Your thoughts?

