Accepting Weaknesses

I’m taking a challenge from DanielleLaPorte.com‘s Burning Questions. On her blog, Danielle asked, “What do you suck at?” She says “…when you approve of your weaknesses, you give yourself permission to pursue your genius.” So, here goes:

I suck at proofreading my own work. My clients’ projects and blogs look great, but my own…well..you’ll see for yourself before this is over, I’m sure.

I suck at household chores. They just aren’t for me. One day I’ll be able to afford a housekeeper and it won’t be a problem. Until then, laundry is my nemesis.

I suck at doing one thing at a time. I won’t call it ADD, but  I certainly function better when I have more on plate.  A little pressure goes a long way.

I suck at making and receiving phone calls of any kind. I don’t know what it is, but that little contraption just vexes me. I won’t answer a house phone that doesn’t have caller ID, I have call screening on my cell and it takes me at least a week to make even the most important phone calls.

I suck at knowing when I’m wrong. Typically I don’t notice I’m wrong until well after everyone else has. (What can I say, it just happens so rarely). But I must say that when I finally do get my head outta my…ahem… I’m quick to admit that I was wrong and laugh at my silly self.

I suck at being on committees. This one I stole from Danielle, but it’ so true. I love team work when it’s warranted, but “committees” make me itch. They meet too much, have no order and …just UGH! Especially if the leader is in effective. I’ve rarely been on a committee that achieved it’s purpose.

So that’s it, those are the things I suck at. There are many many more, but this is a good start. Now, some of these things I have to become better at and others (like proofreading) I just outsource to someone else.  How do you deal with your weaknesses? Do you improve, ignore or compensate?

Read Danielle’s original post, to see how much she sucks. But really, I ADORE her and her daily emails. I don’t know her personally, and don’t make one red cent to say this, but if you want to get the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth packed into one sentence every morning, sign up for her Daily Truth Bomb.

If you’re bold enough head over to her blog to tell the word what you suck at.


Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I think flaws are a beautiful thing, and it reminds us that we are human/no one can be perfect.

    As for I, I suck at time management,

    Reply
    • You’re so right! As long as we’re alive, we’ll be working on our flaws, but it helps to embrace them.

  1. Accepting Weakness – | Deep Thinkings

Your thoughts?

